The University Council for Academic Affairs and Assessment (UCAAA) is primarily composed of the academic associate deans who are responsible for academic affairs and related policies in each school and college. Other members include major unit directors or academic affairs liaisons representing cross-campus organizations or programs. The council:

  • Supports, enhances and coordinates academic and co-curricular programs and educational achievement across campus
  • Focuses on student learning, effective teaching and improving the educational experience of all students
  • Discusses and makes recommendations related to academic policies, planning and assessment


The UCAAA is currently chaired by John Zumbrunnen, vice provost for teaching and learning.

This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.

School and College Representatives

  • College of Agricultural & Life Sciences
    Karen Wassarman, Associate Dean
  • Wisconsin School of Business
    Ella Mae Matsumura, Senior Associate Dean
  • Division of Continuing Studies
    Marty Gustafson, Associate Dean
    Aphra Mednick, Associate Dean
  • School of Education
    Carolyn Kelley, Senior Associate Dean
  • College of Engineering
    David Noyce, Associate Dean
    Manuela Romero, Associate Dean
  • Gaylord Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies
    Anna Gade, Associate Dean
  • Research and Graduate Education
    Parmesh Ramanathan, Associate Dean
  • School of Human Ecology
    Annette McDaniel, Assistant Dean
  • International Division
    Richard Keller, Associate Dean
  • Law School
    Kevin Kelly, Associate Dean
  • College of Letters & Science
    Cal Bergman, Associate Dean
    Shirin Malekpour, Associate Dean
  • School of Medicine and Public Health
    Elizabeth Petty, Associate Dean
  • School of Nursing
    Barbara Pinekenstein, Associate Dean
  • School of Pharmacy
    Melgardt De Villiers, Associate Dean
  • School of Veterinary Medicine
    Peggy Schmidt, Associate Dean

Academic Support Unit Representatives

  • Academic Planning and Institutional Research
    Jocelyn Milner, Director and Associate Vice Chancellor
  • Assessment, Office of the Provost
    Regina Lowery, Assessment Coordinator
  • DoIT Academic Technology
    Linda Jorn, Director, and Associate Vice Provost for Learning Technologies
  • Enrollment Management
    Steve Hahn, Associate Vice Chancellor
    Scott Owczarek, Registrar
  • General Education
    Elaine Klein, Associate Dean, College of Letters & Science
  • University Libraries
    Leslie Moyo, Associate Director
  • Morgridge Center for Public Service
    Earlise Ward, Director
  • Division of Student Life
  • Office of Testing and Evaluation Services
    Jim Wollack, Program Director, School of Education
  • Office of Undergraduate Advising
    Wren Singer, Director

Meeting Schedule

Every 3rd Friday